horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Goldcrest of a Wave

I'd actually gone to the bottom of the garden trying to get a shot of the Fieldfare that was buzzing about (distant, fuzzy, not good) when this cracking wee Goldcrest decided to explore the apple tree above me, wandering along branches obligingly for about 5 minutes, unperturbed by my presence, and occasionally sitting too close for the camera to focus (meaning I got the pleasure of simply standing watching with him only 6 inches from my head).

Ah, simple pleasures.

Mel's slowly getting better, but another house-ridden day was on the cards. I had a wander to the Figgy (seeing a lost looking Teal who had probably got separated somehow form his mates on Duddingston Loch, and trees full to bursting with Goldfinches - none of which presented a decent photo-op however). Can't really think where the time has gone, always seems to happen this time of year - Christmas is already 2 days ago!

Quick trip to Asda for a couple of things revealed everything back to normal with folk stotting about blindly. I'm glad my basket was a mere 5 items light and I wasn't in for long - stopping long enough to grab a copy of BirdWatching Magazine, which I wouldn't normally do (it's not the most riveting of reads...) but I've got two pictures in a Waxwing special 'Your Bird Pictures' section (the top two pics, ironically not my best Waxwings really...).

Tomorrow I'm hoping for a venture further afield, avoiding shops with sales on, and shops in general, and making the most of a week away from the office.

Aaaaanyhoo. I hope everyone who was celebrating it has had a great Christmas, got what they wanted would have liked, and made people they care about happy. That's all that really matters. I think I managed all three this year... Hopefully.

Figgy Teal

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.