Seeing as I am

By seeingasiam

Getting a handle on Blip

One thing I love about my 'one photo a day for a year' project on Blip is that I *have* to find something to shoot every day and this forces me to take shots I may not have bothered to take otherwise. This is one of those shots which I probably wouldn't have taken yet I rather like it because it captures something essentially Noah-ish: the particular way he grips the handle of his trundle truck. I also took some full length shots but they didn't really capture that something-ness...the way he puts one hand on the top and one at the side to give him greater control. His hands were still in the same place of course but in the full length shot the emphasis was wrong.

Blip has forced me to really think about what it is I want to capture when I hit that shutter button. Now I think, 'Why am I taking this shot...what is it that makes me want to take a picture here?' and focus or frame to capture just that. it might be Noah's curls, or the tilt of H's head, or the way Bob purses his lips slightly when he's thinking. In the beginning the thought was very conscious but now it's kind of instinctive. I'm vaguely aware of the thought flitting through my brain as I pick up my camera but capturing that something-ness is becoming a lot more natural.

Just thought I'd share that...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.