Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Keeping warm

If possible, the weather today has been greyer and more foggy than yesterday. As I'd agreed to take two of my offspring into town to look round the sales, I thought it might be wise to secure a garden blip before I left. I love the time I spend watching the birds and the squirrels - and today I was rewarded by seeing a redwing feasting on fallen apples - the first of the year for the garden. However I couldn't photograph it, because it was too far away in deep gloom. In the end this robin was my choice. It's strange that although the temperature has risen, it's much more fluffed-up than the one I photographed before Christmas,

Our trip to town was fairly successful. We managed to buy a red military style jacket for Alex at less than 30% of the original price. Alex and I also managed to rescue a pigeon which had a plastic cup attached to its head, a bit like those collars animals are given at the vets to stop them licking their wounds. We were horrified that most of the people in town were just laughing and pointing at it - one young man was even videoing it! Another family were trying to help, but as it could still walk fairly fast and flutter up into the air, they weren't making much progress. I told Alex to go and buy some chips, and we lured it towards us by throwing bits of chip on the ground. When it was right in front of me I grabbed it (having had lots of experience with chickens) and another lady helped ease the cup off its head. We were so glad to see it fly off as if nothing had happened!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.