Colin Parte

By ColinParte

Windsor Road

This is Windsor Road, in Belfast. It's very close to where my parents live on the Lisburn Road, but it is also where my great grandmother brought her three sons to live following the murder of their father on 1 May 1922, during the Irish Civil War, near Keady in County Armagh. Charlie, my grandfather, who was 16 at the time, had also been shot in the incident but had survived after spending a year in hospital. Charlie and his younger brothers, Eddie and Ernie and their mother Rose, lived here for some years. I'm not even sure yet of the house number. I have been researching the family history for many years with little time or luck.

Anyhow, I found myself out playing again with my new shutter release gizmo and my tripod, and ended up with very little other than this.

Looks better LARGE.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.