HarryJ

By HarryJ

1-365 January 1 2011

430 EX @ 1/64 90deg CR Tamron 28-75 F4 ISO100

Ta-daaa!

This is my very first blog post. That's because this is my very first blog! So why, when there are millions of other blogs out there, does the world need another one? Simple really. This blog is to go along with the photos that I will take during my 365 project on Flickr for 2011.
I've never done a 365 before, and I'm quite daunted by it to be honest. (What on earth do I take 365 pictures of during the year?). Well, we're just going to have to find out aren't we?

The picture that goes with today is really the basis of why I'm doing this in the first place.
Yes, you are correct. It IS a tape measure! Well done!
But it's really a helluva lot more than that. It's a magic tape measure that can kick start me into action not only for this year, but for years to come.
Every year about now, I, and millions of others formulate goals and New Years resolutions. But I'm not very good at..well, let's just say...following up and seeing things through. I even failed at one of last years resolutions, which was to CANCEL MY GYM MEMBERSHIP! How bad is that? (I haven't been any where near the gym so it's cost me some money by not following through)

Anyway, back to the tape measure...

Many people, when asked about how long they think they will live, will reply with a look somewhere between contempt,fear, and absolute mistrust. But using this tape measure can be the biggest favour you've ever done someone.
So they pull out the tape until they see the number they think they'll live to. (It's amazing how people tend to use the same number, such as 80 or 85.) Then they use one hand to hold the tape at that number. The other hand should be used to hold the tape at THEIR CURRENT AGE! The difference between the two hands is all they have LEFT!

Yes! All, they, have, left.

Now, if you're 21 at the moment, it looks as though you've still got forever to live, but if you've reached 40....well, that's a different matter. You've already "spent" half, if not more, of your alloted time on the planet.

So...there's no time to waste, which is why I'm doing this blog.......

Ah well! Until tomorrow.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.