One daze at a time...

By Raheny_Eye

Happy New BAM!

It's the festive season for the dogs too. And Uncle Martin and I know that Nana's Jojo likes nothing better than the aul sniff of a woodcock.
So we decided to take him for a little wander in the bogs.
Just Martin and I and Jojo. And our walking sticks.
Four woodcocks happened to fly off a bit hastily and knock themselves unconscious on our walking sticks. And since Uncle Martin and I are partial to the aul sniff of the (wood)cock, especially when it is wrapped in smokey streaky rashers, sauteed in shallots and flambeed with whiskey, we thought that we might as well pick them up.


Ok, I've already lost 2 subscribers over this entry. And fair enough. I fully understand. Shooting and the killing of animals are two topics that are bound to divide people. I thought long and hard about posting this, I had a shot of the four cousins on the beach which would have been equally good (well, in my eyes anyway) and more crowd-pleasing. Well perhaps not crowd-pleasing bu crowd non-offending. But then I decided to post this one as I want to be true to myself. This one is the reflection of my day and what I want to remember about it in years to come. I did not post an image with a gun in a prominent position as I do not believe in glamourising guns. I do not believe in glamourising shooting either. I just happened to be shooting today. Nothing fills me with more dread than the type of company one has to suffer within a shooting society (I know only too well...) But I truly enjoyed this morning in my brother's company. And I will enjoy my brace of woodcocks wrapped in streaky rashers and flambeed in whiskey.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.