Joe's Blips

By joesblips

Forgotten Holly

The day after Christmas I blipped a Holly leaf and one of my correspondents offered the opinion that it might have been better had there been a greater depth of field, to show as many spikey bits as possible sharp. Fair enough comment, although what I was doing that day was an exercise in shallow dof.

Unfortunately that particular leaf was thrown away straight after being blipped but here we have another which I found languishing in my blip box. Goodness knows how long it has been there, forgotten about until now. Well, step up Holly Leaf, your time has come!

Here, I've stopped right down to f20 to achieve the greater dof. Lighting is by two desk reading lamps, backgroung is a sheet of blue card out of a craft card making kit and the lens is a new 18-55mm image stabilised Canon lens which I got for Christmas. No tripod here, hand held at 1/25th second in order to see if the IS really works. I think this rather proves the value of the system

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.