PicturePoems

By PicturePoems

A Drippy-wet, Miserable, Rainy Day

This new children's poem is part fact and part fiction. I actually love this clock that we bought on our honeymoon in Borrowdale, back in 1975. But today's wet weather is pretty miserable.

I'm watching the face of the living room clock,
And hearing its tick and monotonous tock.
It's far too damp for a walk today;
Too soaking to go in the garden to play
On this drippy-wet, miserable, rainy day.

The face of the clock is staring me out,
It hasn't blinked once, till I want to shout.
But it whispers back with a smug tick-tock.
I could slap the face of the living room clock,
And give it a drippy-wet, miserable shock!

All the clock does is keep ticking away
And staring and staring as if to say,
It's your own silly fault that it's raining today;
Pick up the phone - ask your friend to play!
But he's drippy-wet, miserable, gone away.

Though I don't quite dare to allow it to fall,
I'm turning the clock with its face to the wall.
But I still hear its ticking; it rings in my ears:
Its ticking like mocking; its tocking like jeers
In its drain-blocking, brain-locking, zany old way
On this drippy-wet, miserable, rainy old day.

poem © Celia Warren 2011

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.