While on my runs

By waipushrink

Diamond-studded waters of Kawau

I am clearly getting into holiday mode; waking 30 - 60 minutes later than usual. By the time I am up and out on my run, the sun has risen. I cruised alongside Snells Beach for a way, then up the hill to the main road and back along the ridge until I could head down to the shore in the next bay. Two or three possible blips on the way.

Then up the more than a hundred steps from the foreshore to the top of the cliff in the Highfield Garden Reserve. From that height the sun, still low and now very bright, was casting fantastic light across the bay, especially into Algies by the marina.

I was a bit concerned that the sun would be too bright and would make everything else too dark; it certainly dazzled me. So I am quietly pleased with the effect I have got, shooting almost directly into the sun, aiming a little lower than the height of the sun in the sky.

That is Kawau Island to the left. Beyond the two headlands on the right, and glittering brightly from the sun, is the Hauraki Gulf. One day I may play with this and see what I can do with it. Today, I am just happy with what I got.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.