Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Common goldeneye

Spent some time today staring at the water. There's something very calming about it, when it's not storming. Of course I was also looking for winter ducks. But there weren't that many around, and so far away.. Both Barrow's Goldeneye and Common Goldeneye are diving sea ducks that return here from the north in the Fall, feeding on mollusks and crustaceans in these protected waters. The Barrow's is more common here and has a crescent shaped cheek patch while the common has a round cheek patch. This is definitely the less common "Common goldeneye"(male) so I thought it was a good blip to make me remember the difference. My lens wouldn't let me get as close as I wanted.

Also had a fine New year's chat with my good blipper friend "Islandcat" !
And yesterday the kid across the bay made the iphone tether to the computer, making blipping anything at all a lot easier! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.