Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Book Club!

A 70% partial eclipse of the sun this morning though the heavy cloud cover made it impossible to see. It made 8am very dark!

The writing that I failed to complete yesterday almost wrote itself first thing this morning - my best thinking time. In fact my first day back at work has been very productive and I've made the adaptations to the Quality Mark framework that I've been putting off for months. No time to take a blipfoto during the day so I've been photographing using artificial light tonight.

A few different objects caught my eye but finally I decided to focus on the `The Girl who Kicked the Hornet's Nest', the final book in the Millenium Trilogy. (I was going to blip this last Saturday when we had the news about Paul and then it just wasn't appropriate.)

For those who haven't read it, I found it just as compelling as the other two, though it did take me quite a long time to get into it. At 743 pages it's at least one hundred pages too long and really would have benefited from more rigorous editing (being told about the intricacies and history of the Swedish Secret Service proved a little too complex!) It takes Lizbeth a little while to get going in this third book, which is only to be expected given the little drama she enacted at the end of Book 2. Her feisty character does, as you'd expect, win out in the end and Mikael is just about forgiven. I wonder if they'll ask Sebastien Faulkes to write a sequel? His book `A week in December' is next on my list.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.