Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Stop, start, Hillsborough!

A journey that I will not miss when I retire later this year is this stop start journey through dismal Hillsborough, home of Sheffield Wednesday. The traffic always snarls up at this point and it's just a question of sitting out the queue and listening to the radio. Tonight Jeanette Winterson providing her opinionated views on a new edition of Huckleberry Finn. A couple of miles beyond here I start to drive uphill and the countryside begins. In the daylight and when there is snow on the ground it is very lovely.

Another dismal day outside and a not too warm one in our office. Nevetheless I've had quite a productive day. In some ways I'm on the home stretch now trying to finish things off and get ready for someone else to take over. Though at the moment the uncertain times makes it possible that there will be no funding for anyone to take over.

I managed a brief look at a few blips this lunchtime and was distictly envious of Amalarian's lunch as I sat there and ate my Tesco sandwich - I've virtually tried them all now and they're all pretty dismal! I really must make more effort to take lunch with me - we've still got food to eat up after Christmas and not many days to eat it in.

A day at home tomorrow and I'm determined to get back to doing some art.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.