Darrell K Morris

By darrellkmorris

I Ask This Question Every Day...

First day back at the day job after a three day break and sadly the Christmas spirit seems to be well and truly gone. As twitter became abuzz this morning with various tweets about people having to venture back to work after a two week break, I contemplated that my three day break was my Christmas break. The perils of working within the retail sector is that you can now be open Seven days a week and most if not all secular and religious holidays.

Putting all creative pursuits to one side for a second, my main goal for this year has to be to become one of those people I look up to and admire most - The person who works from home. I can't really complain. I only have a twenty minute train journey into central London, but heading into the big smoke should be something to be treasured and enjoyed and not part of a daily grind where you fight for a seat on a train or tube carriage and get pushed around on a pavement in a stampede to get to work. So, it's settled then. From as soon as possible i work from home or at the very least, a bit closer to home. Or maybe I should just be thankful I still have a job.

Thanks to the artist David Shrigley and his wonderful book for giving me some visual inspiration.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.