Wayfarer

By wayfarer

Faded Glory

I've passed this building many times as I've driven from Wellingbough to Northampton along the old road. Today, I stopped and grabbed a snap. It took me a while to find out what it was - Google wasn't giving up any information without a fight.
It was opened in 1939 as the W Pearce Tannery Leather Works and ran until 2002 when it closed as it couldn't compete with overseas manufacturers.
The building is empty but is going to be turned into housing, with the buildings at the front remaining more or less as they are. Until recently there was an avenue of tree either side of the pool - I remember just getting a glimpse of the entrance through the trees as we drove past, and today was the first time I've seen it properly.
Not good weather for a photo but at least there was no one to stop me sneaking in and grabbing my shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.