My Year in Pictures

By jenny

Thank you

Isn't blip simply wonderful!

Out of everyone I've met here, I know only one person in "real" life - everyone else I've never actually met.

And everyday the warmth, support and helpfulness of this community continues to give me such pleasure. The encouragement people give in their comments is so very lovely.

Yesterday, horrigans gave me the most wonderful and concise explanation about the exposure triangle - something I have just not get my head around (I mean why on earth would a large aperture have a small number and vice versa for goodness sake!) - if you're a newbie like me, do read it as I found it incredibly helpful - thank you Sarah x

And then last night Instography was just so helpful in the forums as I struggled to print out my pictures - you have the patience of a saint Steven - thank you!

Also yesterday, the lovely jkj10 said she was going to send me something else! - and I've already had the most fab gloves from her - thank you Juliana x

And then there's Dotty. Not only did she introduce me to blip with her wonderful pictures, but she led the way with the foray into manual and gave me the confidence to start that particular journey this week, and is encouraging me every step of the way. Dotty you're such an inspiration, a very wonderful lady and I do so hope we manage to meet very soon xxx

So with my head full of exposure triangle stuff this morning, I planned to head off early to a meeting down in High Wycombe. I knew it would be a full-on day so decided to go the back way to the A40 (leaving plenty of time of course) in the hope that I'd blip spot on the way.

Of course even the best laid plans sometimes don't come together, as I left the house a lot later than I intended!

However all was not lost I thought, as after over a week of grey, the sun was just glorious.

So as I rounded the corner coming out of the village, I saw the opportunity.

Jammed on the brakes, pulled in and quickly ran through my plan for the picture:

- Bright sun let's start with a low ISO
- Landscape so narrow aperture (which is a big number!!!!)
- Then oh rats can't really remember at what point I'll need a tripod for shutter speed - let's start here and see what happens!

Jumped out the car, realised I had no coat on and it was freezing, took 3 shots at 3 shutter speeds and jumped back in the car with my fingers and toes crossed!

And as I thought, it was a full-on day with no chance for further pictures - so here you have it - the one with the fastest shutter speed of the three!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.