just be

By justbe

Feline Worries

Are you upset little friend? Have you been lying awake worrying? Well, don't worry...I'm here. The flood waters will recede, the famine will end, the sun will shine tomorrow, and I will always be here to take care of you.

-Charlie Brown to Snoopy



I have a call into a cat behaviorist to see what we are doing that's causing what I think is redirected aggression between Max & Raspberry to continue. A pet communicator is also something I'm thinking of. Raspberry has a minor history of redirected aggression, spotting one of my brother's cats outside and taking it out on Max. Loud noises, darting at Max, but immediately stopping. She is a loving but high strung Aby I suppose, really bonded with both of us. They are not jealous animals, and she gets the most attention anyway, she insists. Three years ago she spent a warm summer night on the screened piazza by accident. We didn't see her when we closed up for the night. Early in the morning we heard cats screaming and flung open the door to find my brother's worst bully torturing her through the screens. I am afraid when Max rubbed all over my brother's sweatshirt on Sunday afternoon that some of that gray devil's scent transfered to Max. She and Max passed each other in a dark area near one of the litter boxes almost immediately after and she attacked Max. We are stressed with our friend's impending death, but they have greeted us as a team every time we come home, have been perfectly normal with each other until after my brother left. They see him often, love guests, are the most social cats we've ever had or seen, but we all remarked that Max couldn't seem to get enough of C that day and he poked and rubbed Max all over. My brother has five cats.


Good thoughts needed, keeping them apart is no fun and we are exhausted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.