Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Back to normal - my foot, or should I say my head!

So today was going to be the start of normal life again, after the holiday. It rained until about 0600, then the temperature dropped suddenly so the roads were covered with a thin, invisible layer of ice. I set out by car to pick up L and S on our way to do the Haltwhistle walk this morning. I suddenly found that the ABS had kicked in, I had no braking power, and the car drifted out of the junction onto the main road. Thankfully, no other cars were anywhere near. I went home, initially thinking that the brakes had failed - DUH.

No walk today, not safe to drive.

Walked instead to village surgery to collect prescription. Warned everyone I met about the lethality of the ice, then went BANG onto the road - broken specs, split eyebrow in 3 places and acquired a lot of bruises. Taken to surgery and patched up.

Definitely NOT back to normal.

What on earth to blip - took self portrait and thought I'd give you all nightmares.

This is one from a bouquet I was given last week. It is yellow. I took it in very low light so there is a lot of noise. Converted to mono, then added a blue tint (like a blue rinse I think!) Best I can do today. Everything could be worse.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.