Starry Eyed Surprise

By bellerock

Am I right or am I meringue?

You can't beat a homemade one.

Lunch today was at Balgove Larder farm shop and cafe, situated on the outskirts of St Andrews. We went on the recommendation of a friend, and were not disappointed. The farm shop has won a Scottish Home baking Award and the produce is locally sourced.

I love farm shops with all their beautiful fresh produce displays, the colours, aromas and buzz.
In my opinion, there's no better way to waste time than browsing through niche and unusual bottles of pickles, sauces and drinks; trying to justify when and how frequently I would use them.

The cafe was busy, which is always a good sign, but we didn't wait long and were seated a large farmhouse kitchen table. Good craic soon struck up between the family we were sharing the table with and ourselves. The table service was prompt and the food was fresh and delicious. I could have spent ages sipping my latte and having a natter, but Claire wanted to say hello to the free range chickens.

On the way out, I made my purchase of some homemade meringues for dessert tonight. They look gorgeous, gooey,light and huge!.

The debate rumbles on.... should we eat them ungarnished or topped with fresh berries and cream?


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.