Brockwell Park dog walkers

It's been a day of sorting stuff out, from bringing the plastic boxes full of kitchen items back into the kitchen to taking old, knackered pots and dead batteries to the recycling centre. We walked to Brixton through Brockwell Park. I was impressed that the tennis courts were all in use and many of the folk were in T-shirts. There was a cold wind blowing and I had my hat, gloves and scarf on.

At Brixton, we visited Morleys department store and bought ourselves a lovely, heavy Le Creuset pan to replace two of the knackered pans we'd had for years. Hopefully this one will last for life. It's shocking how excited I can get about a new pan - who'd have thought?!

Continuing in a 'treat ourselves' vein, we discovered a pizza restaurant, Franco Manca, in Brixton Market and rewarded our good, sorting work with pizza and a glass of red. The restaurant is at either side of a covered market and we sat outside facing the path of people going to and fro between the two areas of the restaurant. I loved the simplicity of the place. You can eat only pizza and there were only a few to choose from. No desserts so no temptations.

I don't visit Brixton Market for food usually, but I'm going to have to explore the shops here more. There are some great Asian and Italian places where I can pick up ingredients that feature in most cook books and which do not appear in the three mini supermarkets where I live.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.