OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Marwick Head in the snow

A combination of the cold and work has kept me from getting out on a walk. Today I headed to Marwick. I started at the bird-hide at The Loons. The loch was mainly ice so not much there, but I spotted a hen harrier looking a bit dismal on a distant fence-post. I walked along to Marwick Bay. Three surfers were out in the freezing water. I headed to the Fishermans' Huts at Sand Geo and made coffee in the shelter they give. Then back and along the cliffs of Marwick Head. The snow was very wet and really slippy underfoot, I took a header a couple of times so had to move further from the cliff-edge. I got to Birsay village and sheltered in the ruined palace watching the snow fall until the bus arrived.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.