Möbius Miss

By WifeOfRiley

Size

During the last couple of weeks I've had the same discussion with two different people about why the moon sometimes seems huge in the sky when it is low to the horizon. The general consensus of scientific opinion seems to be that it is all in the mind. The way we perceive size of an object is relative to its surroundings. Since the low moon has buildings, trees and the horizon to compare to it looks large. When it sits high in the sky there is nothing much to compare it to so it appears relatively small against the black backdrop of the night sky. 

I seem to be having astronomy overload at the moment- a course on the go, another about to start, an astro. residential in a few weeks, all of the Stargazing stuff on TV this last week and even an atlas of the universe for Christmas! I'm really enjoying this new adventure- my initial idea that it might be useful for teaching has been eclipsed by a real personal desire to grasp as much knowledge about the sky as I can. 

When I saw this view I had to shoot it. I think it encompasses that whole idea of relative size. The huge Mill Chimney truly does suppress the magnitude of the moon and I love the tiny slice of light hanging in the navy sky. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.