Ferinus vis quod ignarus

By leecarson

Incidentally

The theme of this weekend's Blip-Challenge is Incident.

Eh? The very vagueness of this nearly defeated me before even going for the camera! I mean, everything is an incident, how was anyone supposed to find a personal, entertaining and novel angle? What's next - "Noun"? "Thing"? "Whatever"?

But of course part of the Blip-Challenge is the word "challenge", you'll have spotted that, so why should it be easy? Thinking cap on and I decided to make it a photography blip.

Because that's what photography is to me, the constant pursuit to capture or or create an "incident" that only you see for the purposes of recording, sharing or conveying it to others. Every picture is an incident which will never be repeated in quite that way again. Every second your finger hovers over the button change the incident you'll record and some you win, some you lose.

Like this picture. These are two of my film cameras and between them are responsible for many incidents, whether photographing them or causing them.

So there, turns out Incident was fine in the end. But can we have "Unicorns with Rockets" next time?

(p.s. This will be my entry for the challenge, in case my ramblings didn't make that clear ...)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.