Too much time on your hands...

Of all the irksome lazy conversation lubricant statements or speech ticks that I've ever come across, the statement that "You've too much time on your hands." is one that I've still never managed move from 'Grrr...' to 'Meh...' in my internal mindset.

Just because I choose not to use my time in a conventional manner and actively plan it so I have room to do the things I enjoy does not mean I have any more time availale to me than anyone else.

I choose not to sleep on the bus, I choose not to turn the television on, I choose to get out of bed when the morning comes, I choose to consider conundrums when my brain has nothing else to turn it's attention to. I choose as much of life as I can squeeze into my waking hours.

So, if you ever tell me I have too much time on my hands, be aware. I may not vocalise it but I shall be growling on the inside.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.