D77

By D77

Road 90

Imagine a dog eating a whole bunch of grammar text books, shitting them out, and then stapling the resulting mess together. That's what Pugface's end-of-course exam looked like. Luckily for me, Mr Boss is back and as he likes nothing more than a lengthy sparring match with the tit, I left him to it. With five minutes left on the clock today, the printer next to me spat out her unreadable attempt to reproduce the whole thing on Microsoft Word (an application I still take for granted everyone can now use). I just raised my eyes to heaven and took solace in the fact that in a hundred years time, nobody is really going to give a shit anyway.

Talking of heaven, one of our new teachers has been bombarding me recently with questions of faith, or more specifically, my lack of it. She appears to be fascinated by my views on the world. Today's conversation revolved around the term 'Humanist' (I hate the term itself) and what it means to be one. Her actual question was: "What's the difference between an atheist and a humanist?", a question I was sadly not able to answer with any great conviction. I've made the point before that when being questioned by religious people, atheists often have to have an abundance of clever, well researched and well thought out arguments to support what they're saying, whereas in the opposite case a simple 'God says so' (or similar) is enough.

All this recent talk was partly instigated by her reading up more stuff in light of my disregard for anything remotely to do with religion but more so to do with some of her Christian friends being a little bit moronic in their reaction to the church bombing at New Year. There is an underlying tension felt by Coptic Christians that they are not being treated equally within the Egyptian society. A claim that appears to have absolutely no basis other than their lack of numbers in the overall population and fuelled by people generally not knowing what the fuck they're talking about. It's all very interesting really, and I couldn't help but have a little admiration for the stories circulating of groups of Muslims congregating outside churches to offer protection to those inside trying to get on with their worship. Much more admirable than the idiots that took to the streets right after it to pick fights with the local Muslims and police.

In other news, my internet speed has quadrupled. Perhaps there is a god after all*.










*Not.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.