Who knew?

By InOtherNews

Football

Please do stay with the writing to the end here, its really important to me that you do.

This was my local hard standing football pitch and youth club. When I was a kid I used to play on here and pretend to be Lincoln players such as Gareth Ainsworth. I've always had a favourite player in any season, one who epitomises the values I hold dear. Even as a 32 year old man I have players I hold in high esteem, players I envisage being when I kick a football.

In 2002 City signed a midfielder from Kettering called Richard Butcher. He was a proper midfielder, a passer of the ball and someone who could weigh in with an outstanding goal or two. Our story in 2002/03 was almost a fairytale. We went into administration in the summer, and by May 2003 we were on the cusp of the play offs. We needed a win away at Bournemouth to give us a fighting chance - Richard Butcher popped up and scored a belter to all but secure our play off place. He was a massive favourite of mine, I even wanted to call my kitten Butch after him.

Over the next few years he gave 100% everytime he pulled on a City shirt. He scored 12 times in total, including a spectacular 40 yard strike away at Mansfield. After we failed to win promotion for a third time Butch left for Oldham.

Within two months he was back on loan, playing 4 times and scoring 1 goal. He then moved around a couple of local clubs before Facebook brought us together. I was running a Lincoln City website at the time, and I contcted him for an interview as an ex Imp. He responded and from there on we exchanged a few messages, and his passion for my club shone through. He told me he fully expected to pull on a red and white shirt again, and his honesty and frankness struck me. He was a rare commodity in todays game, a real gentleman.

Then in 2009 he signed for us for a third time. His spell was short lived, the manager who signed him dropped him after fans pressure, and by January he left on loan. However when he did come out for his third Imps debut he recieved a heroes welcome. He always had time to say hello to fans, to give something back.

Richard Butcher died yesterday in his sleep. He was 29 years old and had recently scored for Macclesfield on New Years Day.

Writing this I'm filling up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.