Plus ça change...

By SooB

Triplets

(Words to follow, after curry.)

I'm continuing my quest to actually learn something rather than just bumble around taking photos of whatever presents itself. Today I was trying to solve why the way the photo looks on the little preview screen often looks way different to what I was expecting. I thought if I studied the histogram for each image it might help me get a better shot. Turns out (middle shot - perfectly exposed according to the histogram; right hand shot, very underexposed) this doesn't always help. The third (darkest) shot looks most like what I saw (river water rippling over a leaf, if that wasn't clear).

The one on the left is a b&w version of the middle one. I just quite liked the textures it brought out.

So, still learning....

Much learning by the kids today as well as they landed back in full-time home school with a thump (ie a shock, I don't mean I thumped them until they agreed to do school). Katherine was doing grand, and was given an art task as a sort of reward. She chose to do a really hard task - drawing a car from an angle - and ended up in tears over it. For about an hour. Actually the drawing was rather good. So I never worked out what the tears were really about - perhaps just pent up nervousness about the changes to come over the course of this year? Who knows. A project on polar bears lifted the gloom and all is well again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.