Plus ça change...

By SooB

Point Setters

In my first proper job, I was PA to an American man in England. For a Christmas gift to the people who worked for him he would give everyone a poinsettia (pictured). Naturally, it was my job to order them. He pronounced the name "poynsetta" which my northern vowels transliterated as "point setter". Several very confusing conversations with florists ensued before we finally worked it out. And that was the first time I saw a poinsettia.

That slightly dull, ok, really very dull, story is symbolic of my day. It's been a dull one. Let's just say that the most exciting part of my day so far was when I realised that the seville oranges were in the shops so I could get on and make marmalade. Which I don't even really like.

A good friend arrives tomorrow for a flying visit so I'm sure that will alleviate the tedium of January.

And did anyone notice that Canada's got no Parliament again? Prorogued is a fine word and very useful for a Prime Minister worried about a vote of no confidence. We don't seem to get much news about Canada over here. Why's that then?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.