The smoking gun...

Well not a gun actually...my on-camera flash. That story in a minute.

My stunning cousin S was due to be married on this fine Saturday. Preparations for the event have been incredible to say the least. No detail was missed. Truly amazing. The wedding was set in the 1930's at the local train station. Everyone was dressed to the "T" in the style of 80 years ago.

I could go on for hours, but I've spilled the beans to my husband after 4 hour drive home last night.

So here's a rundown:
Train station
Simple ceremony
Photos
Smoking camera
Board the train (our first ride on a train)
Off the train
Drinks and appetizers
Find your table
Buffet
Chat with friends and family
Live music and dancing
Pie instead of cake
Home to bed

I'm glad I have a lot of photos to help me remember all the finer details. I'm sad that my camera just could not keep up with all the fun. I've never used it indoors before, and it just couldn't cut it. I had learned from my awesome friend My Mind's Eye how to change my flash exposure compensation and was so excited to set it to good use at the wedding.

After I was clicking along, I started smelling what seemed to be an electrical burn smell. I noticed that they had just started up the propane heaters outside to keep people warm outside, so I figured it was that. Then I snapped another photo, and immediately after the shutter clicked, I heard a loud POP! Another photo and POP! I sniffed the flash and realized all that terrible burning wire smell was actually coming from my camera. This was before the bride walked down the isle of course, so when she came through the door, I couldn't even manage any good shots due to the fear of my camera blowing up in my face.

I was brave desperate to get more photos, and the popping sound had disappeared. So I continued on at a super high ISO hoping to at least document the best I could.

The night ended with my Nayne's most amazing pecan pie and a long sleep next to both my little boys. They were perfect angels all day and night. Such good little boys. I am proud.

So this is one of the better shots of my cousin S in all her splendor and beauty. Her husband is incredible as well as his family. Lots of love around the place that day. I wish them all the best in life. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.