Baggie Trousers

By SkaBaggie

Nuclear Winter

I so thoroughly enjoyed arsing around with negative colours in yesterday's blip that I decided to do it all over again today. I ended up with quite a few shots that I was pleased with (all of which you can look at on my Blipfolio), but opted for this one, because I'm a sucker for sunsets. Even slightly mental ones like this.

When I loaded it from my camera onto the computer, it immediately reminded me of all the many horrifying films and novels set in, around or after the great nuclear holocaust that the cynics suggest we're shuffling towards. A Town Like Alice, Riddley Walker, Threads, When The Wind Blows, take your pick; the 20th century wasn't exactly short of people prophesising that peace on earth would finally be achieved in a particularly massive, emphatic, underwear-soiling way. Christ, even The Specials had a go at it. Did they have a point? What will we find at the end of that path through the trees? A spectacular red sunset, or a dreadful black void? Or do we have the strength and courage to turn our backs on that path and just walk away?

If there's a point to today's rambling, I don't know what it is. But whoever you are, wherever you live, whatever you do, just promise me one thing: try not to nuke anyone in the next twenty-four hours or so. Okay? Okay.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.