Baggie Trousers

By SkaBaggie

Lune Industrial Estate #7: Windows

The latest image in this ongoing series is about twenty yards down the street from the fifth installment, This Is England, in the shadow of Carlisle Bridge, where the west coast main line crosses the River Lune. The title comes from The Levellers' song of the same name, as do the lyrics below, and can be found on the outstanding album Subway Songs.

On the day that I met you, I wasn't meant to go there
But I was tired of the broken windows
This world's not new, it's broken too
But I can see the gaps where we can mend these broken windows

No, I will tell it to the sky before I die
These broken windows

Cut the tree to break the branch, all for a chance
Just to mend the broken windows
Dig the earth to make the glass, all for a chance
To mend the broken windows

No, I will tell it to the sky before I die
Will we mend the broken windows?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.