Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Palmetto Celebration

Today is my 356th blip. If you were expecting an image containing the magical numbers 3, 6 and 5, I am sorry to disappoint. I thought it best to celebrate with one of my hallmark shots -- high contrast b&w -- and with a subject that is always photogenic -- a palmetto.

There have been times when I have thought of packing it all in but then I think of my loyal subscribers and take the view that the show must go on, if only for their sake.

I have met lots of people in this virtual reality and people whom it has been a real pleasure to make their acquaintance. I have learned more about New Zealand than I ever knew before, thanks to cabbagetree and flying. I have received unstinting support from people such as ionnature, roylance and noah1.

I have appreciated the wit of Moments, who has been absent from blipfoto for far too long, and the thoughtful comments of distracted housefrau. And like many of you, I have marvelled at the superb output of richard.

And to those whom I may have overlooked, I apologize but thank you for your support and comments.

What has impressed me during these 365 days is the wealth of photographic talent that regularly features on blipfoto. It makes me feel something of a fraud that I have decided to sell my photographic work online but it is the only way I can think of deriving some sort of an income. Whether an income materializes still remains to be seen. I am keeping my fingers crossed but I am not holding my breath.

I may have trodden on a few toes but make no apologies. I will never kow-tow either to hypocrisy or medieval beliefs.

The big question at the forefront of my mind tonight is whether I can continue for another 365 days. I have the feeling that I probably will.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.