While on my runs

By waipushrink

Bliss

The boys (and their mother) headed for home this morning, and we had an appointment in the city. The morning was spent in collecting small persons' belongings from just about everywhere and putting into bags. Some of their toys remain here, providing delight for other children when they have stayed; the novelty factor. The rest of the day was spent in travelling to and from Auckland and doing various things in between.

Before breakfast I had my morning run, and found myself down close to the beach front once more. Spotted more runners than last week, and a number of walkers, and this man sitting comfortably looking over the mudflats to the bay, and thence to Tauwharanui (out of picture) and Kawau (in the background).

The morning light was softened by the quite heavy cloud cover, making the mudflats appear silvery. The shorebirds are out by the water's edge in their little groups, with a few more solitary types scattered in between. Kawau Island looms from this angle, and I have adjusted the light and exposure to emphasise that.

In my imagination, the seated man has walked from a nearby home, possibly to watch the sunrise (half an hour before) and is now enjoying the quiet, the light, and the expanse of the bay. Tempted to join him, I put such thoughts aside, and continued on with my run.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.