While on my runs

By waipushrink

Is this a welcome sign?

Cruised out on an overcast morning, on a three quarter hour route, away from the beaches, and along the main road east on the ridge. Through the neighbouring Algies Bay, I found myself confronted with the above image at the gateway to someone's home.

I wasn't sure how to take this. Seriously, or not? Are these portraits of the householders? Talismanic charms to ward off unwanted intruders? A statement of origin? Or nothing more than a novel way to do something with a large stump after cutting down (or severely back) a pohutukawa? [At the bottom of the picture, can be seen the new growth from the lower parts of the stump.]

Further along on my run I captured a tractor for sale next to a loading race of rather newer vintage that the one in my blip of a week ago. Also at the corner where I turn to return to the local shop for the newspaper, were the tyre marks from somebody(ies) doing a burnout over night. Neither image was captivating.

The rest of the day has been spent by the amazingly resourceful S helping her mother (now 90 and frail) as she had yet another of her weak spells, while I tried sorting out what we can dispose of before the builders lift, shift and repair the house, starting in two or three weeks. This evening I did take quite a nice shot of Kawau Bay looking northwards from the cliff edge of our property. Still felt that the Queen and Love beat all others.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.