While on my runs

By waipushrink

A painted sea

Set off this morning to do the long run along the beach front once again; third time this week. I was attracted into a diversion up onto the hill of Highfield Garden Reserve by the suggestion of brilliant early morning sun (I was a bit late for sunrise). Got a picture with some crepuscular rays (thanks to Ceridwen for reminding me of this term); a little bit of "done that already" to the photograph, however.

Then down to the Snells Beach path. Lots of walkers and runners to greet as we passed. And then I noticed the amazing number of heron at the water's edge which was closer to the bank than for some days. In one of the first groups, I counted 12. There had been some either solitary or in smaller groups before then, and many more afterwards. I walked down onto the sand; the herons had been kind and were congregated where I could get quite close without wetting or muddying my shoes.

I took as many photographs as I could with the battery running low, and chose this as the best. I liked the two straight lines; the mast and the herons and the reflections of each. The line of ducks at right angles is a nice counterpoint. The reflection of the sky is a bonus which led to the title I have given.

Lots of admin today, as back to work on Monday. Giving what support I can to S as she tends to the needs of her elderly mother. Brother in law visited this afternoon, and while talking I noticed the sailing ship passing out in the bay. Rushed off with the Pentax and long lens and got a couple of lovely shots, but I am swayed by the tranquility of this image, and the vote of S.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.