The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Drumlin

Castle Green Hotel, Kendal

The area around Kendal, and particularly to its south is notable for its drumlins. Drumlins are of glacial origin, low clayey hillocks, tapered at one end, left behind as the glaciers retreated and melted.

I was looking at this photo, wondering if this actually was a drumlin, when Wifie looked at the screen and said "Drumlin". Since she is infallible, I'm happy to go with that. This one is crowned by a small copse, and indeed many of the drumlins around here do have single trees or small copses on top.

We were at the Castle Green for a rare get together of staff to discuss land management issues, and I made a presentation on our work on protected wildlife sites. After that, it was a quick dash back to the office, then on the train to York, and then to Easingwold overnight for a training day tomorrow.

I had hoped I would get broadband or a 3G signal where I was staying, but alas I could get neither. Hence, I'm back-blipping this on Thursday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.