Garden within a drop!

Day shift today. It is my second last shift at Ringwood before I go to Burwood for a month! I am driving the Pump for these two days and this morning we had to go to Box Hill to look after their area while they went and did a drill in the city. I went for a run on the treadmill and then we got a call to assist with flooding. Usually this is a job for the SES (State Emergency Service) to deal with but the people were worried about the electricity mixing with the water. We got there and the road was flooded and was beginning to flow down into their house. We just told them to turn off their power and to wait for the SES who had already been called. There wasn't much else we could do.

We got back in station and the one of the guys helped me develop a fitness plan to follow so we went through all the exercises and stretches. It was nearly 1pm by that time and nearly time for us to go back to our station.

No calls this afternoon so far. I went out into the backyard looking for today's blip! It has been raining for most of the day but has stopped now. It is still about 28C (82F) and very humid. I found these flowers in the yard and tried taking a shot of the rain drops that were still hanging off them to get the reflection in them. I wasn't using a tripod and it is really hard to keep the focus using a small f stop (2.8) so that the shutter speed is fast enough and trying to keep still! I managed this one though out of about 50 shots!!

The flood waters in Brisbane are receding but there is still flooding in NSW and now into Victoria (which is where I live, but luckily not near the flooding) and Tasmania. So much damage all over the country which will take weeks and months at least to fix.

Large!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.