Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Montagu Stopford

We're trying out a few options for changing the week around a bit at the moment. Currently, the Wonderspouse is getting a later bus to work on a Friday, and staying a bit later in the evening, which means that we can get up at a slightly more civilized time. It's not like a weekend, as we still get up fairly quickly and have cereal for breakfast, but it's a definite improvement on the ordinary weekday.

The result is that when I drop the Wonderspouse at the bus on a Friday morning it is LIGHT! Which means I can go for a walk! Hurrah! This morning I did 35 minutes of brisk walking (I'm already feeling the fitness benefits of increased exercise and decreased food), which included a walk up Rock Hill. At the end of the road I found this blue plaque, and thought it would make a nice blip.

I think, after all that excitement in Burma and so on, Montagu might have found life rather dull in the small Cotswold town where he spent the rest of his days, but maybe he liked the peace and quiet! I was prompted to google him when I got home and found him on Wikipedia and facebook! He was quite a handsome chap in his day!

The Wonderspouse will be home late late tonight - he's doing a reading somewhere at a pub in Oxford or some such, so I have the rest of the day to get stuff done. I'm hoping to do some admin, viola practice, maths and so on.

I fear it all seems rather humble when I think about commanding Indian Corps in Burma and so on, but I'll be pleased if I manage to achieve the things on my jobs list!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.