Dave Akerman

By daveake

Nay-bours

Unusually, I'd already got my blip sorted for today, but then the clouds unexpectedly broke after a heavy shower so I thought I'd give my new lens an outing.

Previously my only long telephoto lens was a Sigma 18-200, which though very versatile is a bit soft when zoomed out. Also, it doesn't have this new-fangled IS (Image Stability) trickery, so it needs a decent amount of light. The new lens - the Canon 55-250 IS - whilst not expensive, does have IS and I have to say I'm very impressed. I did some test shots indoors with IS switched on and off, using slow shutter speeds, and it made an enormous difference.

So, off I wandered looking for targets around the village, and found some horses in a field. The one on the right here was inquisitive, and did creep a bit closer but not much, so I needed the full reach of the lens. I can tell you that this shot is a lot sharper than I would have got before on the old lens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.