Five things

By fivethings

F@*K about Friday

1. Another day, another trip to Aberdeen. Today I was taking a session with two fourth year art classes in Bridge of Don Academy. Nothing terrifies me more, I realised today, than the prospect of talking to so many teenage faces but it was so good. So very, very good. It has given me a burst of new energy and enthusiasm. What a great way to spend a day.

2. My new boots are a bit daft. I don't do fashionable (if Gyneth jumped off the pier, would I...?). I like to think I do style, but don't we all? Colin suggested that I replace the word 'daft' with foxy and stylish. It worked and I walked a few inches taller.

3. Sometimes other people really bother me, particularly when it comes to public transport. Tonight, on the packed train home, I found myself sitting infront of a wee boy and his grandfather (pappy). They blethered and laughed and giggled the whole way home. It was noisy but it was great.

4. In 2010 Colin and I made Fridays Fizz day, then falafel day. In 2011 we have decided to have fuck about Fridays. We'll take a page at random from the flavour thesaurus and go from there. Tonight he made mackerel with mango and pineapple chutney. This is going to run and run.

5. Sitting together with fizz and talking about everything, fast and furiously, a very messy kitchen and the majestic DPJ providing the soundtrack. I love Friday nights. Love them with all my heart.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.