Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Drivin' That Train

I made it to the railway track/railroad track this afternoon. There were no interesting clouds in the sky to distract me.

I was trying to come up with something interesting to photograph when I heard the sound of a train horn in the distance. I turned and saw the distant headlights of a train. Today's blip was solved in an instant.

I took up a position that would eradicate the less endearing parts of the background. Happy with what I was seeing in the frame -- minus the locomotive -- I readied myself for its approach.

At that point, the rail crossing bells started ringing, the lights began flashing and the barrier began to come down -- and I was the wrong side of it.

Fearing that being on the wrong side of a railway crossing barrier, when a train is approaching, could be a federal offence, carrying a sentence of life without parole or even worse, I scooted back on the right side.

I just managed to get in position to take the shot as the train lumbered by -- actually it was just two locomotives probably off to a bar for happy hour. :-)

I found it strange that the locomotives seemed to take an age to get within shooting distance and then rolled past in an instant. I guess a lot of things in life are like that -- long in anticipation but the actual event is over in a flash.

Read into that what you may. :-)

I am off to see Little Feat tomorrow night. My wife managed to get us free tickets through one of her contacts. I have always been a big fan but, even after living in the US for 10 years, have never got the chance to see them. That will all change tomorrow night.

Have a good weekend y'all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.