Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Tutti Frutti

I took the trusty Canon 40D out for a spin this afternoon to Jacksonville Farmers Market on Beaver Street. I find the stalls of fruit and vegetables often provide a good source of photographic opportunities even if you do get strange looks from the stallholders and other shoppers.

I heard one young girl, after being told by her mother that I was taking photographs, say, "But why is he photographing oranges?"

Out of the mouths of babes and sucklings. :-)

One stallholder wanted to know why I was photographing her display of green beans. She agreed that fruit & veg can make good subjects and went on to describe how her kitchen is adorned with such pictures. Ah -- a kindred spirit.

I settled on this shot of a stall. It kind of reminds me of Carmen Miranda and her famous fruit-adorned hats. I was two years old when she died but she used to feature in the old B&W movies that played out on British TV in the early 1960s. Scottish comedian Stanley Baxter used to do a killing impression of her when parodying Hollywood musicals on The Stanley Baxter Show later that decade. So Carmen Miranda is very much part and parcel of my cultural vocabulary.

Back to the Ravens and the Steelers. Can you believe that Pittsburgh just stood round while the ball was still live? Full marks to the Ravens for playing to the whistle. But you have to laugh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.