Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Reflections on Adams Street

Headed to the heaving metropolis that is dowtown Jacksonville this afternoon, with the myriad of shops, crowded cafes and bustling streets -- NOT!!!

On Sunday and Saturday afternoons the downtown area resembles a ghost town, with homeless men, and men who have conversations with imaginary people, wandering the streets. I noticed someone was dispensing soup from the back of a truck in Hemming Plaza, not quite the scene to promote the city's crown jewel. :-)

I was happy wandering around the deserted streets, at least you don't have to wait for people to pass by to get the shot you want. But if the truth is known, I do wish it was a busy and thriving downtown. I would be more than willing to wait to get a shot if I knew I was part of something dynamic and vibrant.

With time at a premium, I wanted to watch the Jets v Patriots play-off game, I settled on processing this shot quickly and then posting it during half time.

The shot features the old Atlantic National Bank Annex building, on Adams Street, caught in the reflection of a more modern downtown construction. The bank building dates from 1926.

I wonder what the original owners and people of Jacksonville at that time would think if they saw the downtown now. Actually, their thoughts would probably make the Tea Party seem like bleeding heart liberals. Remember, Jacksonville is part of the Deep South with all its unfortunate connotations.

Back to the Jets and Patriots and then it is off to see Little Feat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.