Dave Akerman

By daveake

Slowly Trottole

This blip ended up being a lot more work than I'd anticipated, and involved dragging my other half away from Dancing On Ice to help with the shot. She got impatient quite quickly!

The only coloured suitable food I could find was a jar of Trottole Tricolore. Most of it is now back in the jar but some did get crunched underfoot!

The big problem was lighting. For a start, I had to get a balance between a tungsten desk lamp for the blurred pasta falling, and a hand-held flash to freeze the action. The flash was initially far to bright so I taped an ND8 filter to the front, which fixed that one.

Second, I didn't want any of the background showing, and that meant not just using a black cloth but also trying to fashion light shades with cardboard to keep the light off the cloth. Even so the result had to be edited a bit afterwards.

I'm kinda pleased but I think that more time would help. Next time I'll try when Dancing On Ice isn't on!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.