creative lenna

By creativelenna

what if?

This is a very famous collage . . . well, in the courtship of my husband and I!

Today we unpacked paintings, drawings, collages and art that have been boxed up since May of 2009. That's the date when we put our home back in Connecticut on the market. We sold it and moved to Florida in December 2009 to be near my parents. We rented until just a few months ago and really could not fathom unpacking & repacking all of our art. So we lived without most of it - all boxed up for a year and a half!

This small collage was something I made and gave to Steven the first week we started talking and emailing one another in many years. I knew he was an artist from when I knew him way back in the 70's and 80's and I wanted to show him the kind of art I did, since we had not seen each other or talked for so long. I brought this collage to his office on October 27th, 2004 and gave it to him as a present. I remember thinking as I was making it and choosing the words 'what if?' . . . What if what I was already feeling for him was true? What if we would somehow end up together? (He was divorced, I was separated). Yes, obviously, we did! We were married some 8 months later!

I really smiled today seeing this little, but powerful piece of art I made. I couldn't help but take a photo of it.

more here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.