Crown No10

I bought another Crown stove on eBay last night. It was a hard fought bidding process that went down to the last 3 seconds but I won. This afternoon after work I drove to Ipswich to collect my Crown No10 stove.

What made it interesting was that the stove was on this fellows front verandah on his newly raised house...with no stairs! How were we going to get it down? Well it was quite handy that he owns an excavator which he manouvered up to the verandah and we slid the stove into the bucket. He then carefully lifter the stove up over his picket fence.

It was f*#king heavy! Getting into the back of my car nearly did me a naughty. Getting it out with Jo at home was done with leverage.

The stove is fantastic This one is gas and all I need to do is get new jets fitted so I can run it off bottled rather than mains gas.

The drive to Ipswich was sobering. I went through some areas that suffered the worst of the recent flood inundation. I was kind of wierd seeing muddy flood water level marks at the tops of trees. There must have been a lot of water around there. The streets were littered with piles of flood damaged posessions which used to belong in high and dry houses.

The power came back on at work today. The holiday had to end sooner or later!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.