just allan

By allan

Belhaven Biel Spiel

The bridge at Belhaven, demonstrating it's not useless after all. Following my previous picture of the bridge, I thought I'd get it un-submerged. Just to make it interesting, it's dark. Lights from Fife and the Bass Rock lighthouse are on there too. No tripod, just a camera on a bench propped up by a glove, 6 seconds exposure.

I was late home after going to The Filmhouse to see "The Kings Speech" which was pretty good, but not as good as I've heard. It's a bit flat - I mean you know it's all going to be OK in the end, but the emotional trauma causing the speech impediment is barely hinted at. I suppose they have to be reverential to Royalty and all. They're pretty vicious with Wallace Simpson though.

The BBC has the actual speech by the actual King George VI on Sun, 03 Sep 1939 which is pretty excruciating. Wow. They should have cut to it in the film, or at the end or something.

Anyway, Colin Firth won a Golden Globe, whatever that is, for doing his highly paid job quite well. The Guardian has the usual lovey gushing at the awards. Fabulous darling!

Last night I was reading "A Very Short Introduction to Photography" which observes that "The revival of the popularity of the British royal family dates from roughly the moment around the middle of the 19th century when they began to promote themselves as homely bourgeois citizens." The Kings Speech does exEctly thEt. With terribly correct Eccents.

It was a beautiful day in Edinburgh, but after getting in late due to an 80 minutes delayed (yes, that's 1 hour 20 minutes) train I was stuck in a workshop from noon til after dark. Hmph. Interesting stuff though, and interesting people too.

Good day, all in all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.