just allan

By allan

Piano Men

A beautiful Petrof piano in Alan Makin & Sons, Edinburgh. I walked to the Botanic Gardens at lunchtime, and stopped to gaze at the big, expensive, shiny things in the window. Funny thing is, I must have walked past the shop 100 times over the years and never really looked. I walked in and asked Mr Makin if I could take a picture. He was very gracious and answered my daft lad questions - prices start at £6k if you're wondering. The wee boy's a cute accidental feature.

This is a great journal entry for today, because we've been talking about James Rhodes in work. A couple of us are interested in classical music (a real passion for my colleague), we swap CDs quite a bit, and Mr Rhodes is a bit of a celebrity at the moment. He's on Sky every Wednesday and I've been genuinely excited about a TV programme for the first time for years (apart from the Tour de France. Obviously.)

Oh, and I was sent an email link to a sniffy but basically positive concert review from The Independent. Whatever, he works for me. They're right about the Nigel Kennedy comparison though.

Today is pay day, so I bought James Rhodes new album from play.com first thing, before I left the house. Which wasn't too early since my train was cancelled today and I cycled into Edinburgh for the first time for ages.

By the way, you might think I can play since I previously posted a piano blip. Fact is, I can barely play "Twinkle Twinkle Little Star". But I bet it would sound great on the Petrof.

Sky's James Rhodes clips don't seem to be gathered together anywhere. So, here are the ones I can find:
Episode 1
Episode 1 Continued
Episode 3
Episode 3 Continued
Episode 4
Episode 5
Episode 5 Continued
Episode 6

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.