While on my runs

By waipushrink

Matching my mood?

Yesterday was meant to be our first night back in the city for a month. Fairly much at the last minute (well late last week actually) my mother-in-law was told she had an appointment for an investigation at a hospital in the city. That entailed us bringing her with us when I came back to start work, and then last evening returning her North. A stressful day for the ever giving S, and she asked to stay another night and come back very early for the first appointment this morning.

Therefore my run had to be predawn. Not only dark, it was wet, wet, wet. In a drizzly way rather than a downpour way. Irritating rather than concerning. Humidity 150%, if that is possible. Too dark and grey for much in the way of photo ops until just before I got back, when I went down some steps to the southern edge of the flats which make up Snells beach. Just below the bottom step I took this picture.

The tide was in. The lights in the houses were starting to come on as people roused to get ready for work. And in between the wind ruffled the grey water which was also disturbed by the constant (if gentle) rain.

After a month of at times perfect days and wonderful sunrises and sunsets, playing in the water with the grandchildren, relaxing on the deck, worrying about sunburn, perhaps it is appropriate that today the weather turned.

This photo has been cropped very slightly, reducing the amount of sky that I had got in, and I have increased the contrast to highlight the houses and make the trees just shadows, which is how they appeared to me; just there and not a feature.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.