The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

The fleeting hare

Fleeting impressions of a hare

I took a lot of pictures today that were perfectly sharp. albeit misty. In the end though, it was this hare, turning tail after nearly bumping into me, that I preferred - because to me (and the blip consultant) it conveys something of the essence of this beautiful, flighty animal of myth and magic.

This was taken in low, misty light early this morning in a paddock a few hundred metres from home that Wifie and I have always called the Hare Field. Some years ago I had a prolonged period when I was unwell, and walking this far was a real effort. In the evenings, we would walk slowly up to the end of the wood where the Hare Field starts. And the hare would always be there sitting still in his form, or occasionally grazing under the oak tree. Then in 2009, Wifie was unwell and as she slowly regained her strength, we again walked to see the hare. The anticipation and joy of seeing him was natural therapy for both of us at different times.

We did not know it then, but the large field a little further on is mapped by the Ordnance Survey as the Harefield Parrock. And in spring last year, I regularly watched 4 or 5 hares feeding there. The hares don't spend all their time in the open fields, I often see them crossing into the woods of Arnside Knott and sometimes high up on the steep Shilloe (scree) slopes beneath the top of the hill. I have a photograph taken several years ago of a hare on the Knott that emerged out of a bramble bush within 2 metres of me as I was trying to photograph a scotch argus butterfly, but it is so rare to get as close.

Back to my 2011 bird list, a quick walk along the River Kent in Kendal today yielded dipper and grey wagtail, taking the total on to 81.

Afterthought: maybe don't view large...instead sit well back from the screen for best effect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.