The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

The Mersey

View across the Mersey from Victoria Park, Warrington

The challenge today was to find a blip in Warrington between the Bank Quay Railway Station and the Environment Agency office where I was due to spend most of the day in meetings.

After I caught the train in Arnside, the dawn was developing in to the best so far this year, wispy mists and streaky pink clouds - but I missed it. On the way home, there was a glorious sunset, but I missed that too.

Yet the advantage of blip is that it challenges you to look harder at familiar places. Walking to and from the station, I explored Victoria Park and found this view across the Mersey. In the morning, there were ethereal mists hanging over the playing fields, but the blip consultant said that my photo of a church spire towering above the misty fields could have been taken in a village. She felt this photo was more identifiably Warrington. Who am I to argue?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.